Continuing Education

Access to CEU-approved education sessions is a benefit provided by the Florida Watermelon Association. These educational sessions are available at our Annual Convention and throughout the year. Available classes and credits will be added as they become available. 

Upcoming Events

Produce Safety Alliance Grower Training

A one-day course for fruit and vegetable growers and packers who fall under FSMAs Produce Safety Rule.

HACCP for Florida Fresh Fruit and Vegetable Packinghouses

This two-day course is not a requirement of FSMA rules, but may be required by some third-party audit schemes.

Bridging the GAPs: Approaches for Treating Water On-Farm

This one-day course with Extension specialists across the Southeast to learn about approaches for treating water on-farm and implementing systems to meet requirements of the Produce Safety Rule.

Preventive Controls for Human Food-Preventive Controls Qualified Individual (PCQI) Training

This three-day course for those covered under FSMAs Preventive Controls for Human Food Rule

Beyond Basic Produce Food Safety:

A Hands-On Analysis

This one-day hands-on course is targeted at those who have already attended a food safety training and are looking for a more in-depth and hands-on experience. It is not a substitute for a PCQI or PSA Grower Training for FSMA.

Build Your Own Farm Safety Plan Workshop

This one-day, interactive course will cover all of the various third-party audit options and their respective food safety plan requirements and templates. Much of the class will be spent on a computer (limited number of loaner computers available by pre-arrangements) working through the development of your own farm food safety plan.

Questions?

Travis Chapin

tkchapin@ulf.edu

Joyjit Saha

joyjit@ulf.edu

MIchelle Danyluk

mddanyluk@ufl.edu

Taylor Langford

taylorlangford@ulf.edu

Renee Goodrich

goodrich@ulf.edu

Keith Schneider

keiths29@ulf.edu

Matt Krug

mkrug@ulf.edu

All workshops require advanced registration, www.crec.ifas.ufl.edu/extension/events/

Registration questions? Contact Sarah McCoy at sarahmccoy@ufl.edu

CEU Opportunities

The Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services offers a complete list of CEU approved courses that can be viewed here. This database is searchable by both CEU category and location.

 

Online classes are available for pesticide applicators offered by UF/IFAS. These classes are available year-round for a minimal cost. More information can be found on the UF/IFAS website.

The Florida Watermelon Association is a non-profit organization.

Florida Watermelon Association
P.O. Drawer 8
Fort Myers, FL 33902
Phone: 239.658.1442
Fax: 239.658.1448

Membership Coordinator 

Debbie Alexander

dalexander@flfwa.com

Promotions/Queen Inquiries

Debra Harrison

Phone: 863.633.8306
Email: debra@flfwa.com

For more information, videos, and images click here and check out our Facebook page!